Fasting Week Two Thoughts

21 Jul

As-salam alaikum. About two weeks ago the entire Muslim ummah began our fasting. SubhanAllah, it’s been great and I’ve been able to pass through the days and take full advantage of them.

One of the things that concerned me the most wasn’t the fasting, but how I would manage my time in regards to reading the Qur’an, reading other Islamic books and reciting and trying to memorize parts of the Qur’an.

Surprisingly it’s gone quite well and I’ve succeeded so far in reading one juz of the Qur’an daily as well and having plenty of time for other things. What I like to do is read some Qur’an before or after my prayers, so that way I can have more dhikr or remembrance in Allah throughout the day.

Since I’m the only Muslim in my household, I was worried if I would be able to wake up every morning for suhoor. I wasn’t much of a morning person before reverting and even as a Muslim we all struggle to wake up for fajr. But Alhamdulillah I have woken up every morning on time, and have been able to have my suhoor or breakfast every day.

A week ago my father came to visit us. My parents are divorced and he lives about 4 hours away, so he always tries to visit us every 2 weeks. I was really hoping he would have come the Sunday before Ramadan began, but he ended up coming right in the middle of it all. I wasn’t concerned about having to fast and going with them to eat, but how was I going to tell him I was fasting? He doesn’t even know I’m Muslim, and quite frankly I’m not prepared to tell him it all just yet. My relationship with my father isn’t the best and since we barely see him, I don’t like to share much with him.

The smells were tantalizing. We decided to go to a mall in San José and I do have to admit my mouth was watering the whole time. However, after a while I got used to it and even forgot about the hunger. He was really worried why I wasn’t eating; he offered me everything there was, from chicken to chili to ice cream to even some mangos at a food stand there.

Finally, I told him in front of my brother, who didn’t know I was fasting, either. You see, I’m not going to go around telling everyone that I am. It’s something very personal and we fast to get closer to Allah, to control our bodily desires and to remember the poor and needy. It’s not to tell the entire world that you are fasting. Besides, they won’t understand, especially if they’re Christian. I did have to tell my mother as I knew she would get worried seeing me not eat all day (especially since I love to cook and make really delicious meals at lunchtime hehe).

So there I was, trying to explain to my father I was fasting.

Nobody really fasts here. There’s this so-called “fasting” during lent in Catholic religion where you abstain from meat for one entire day. Oh, and you can eat fish if you want instead. So, it’s not fasting for me. It’s just a day where you decide to be a vegetarian, but then decide not to and have fish instead.

So I was really worried what he would think. Would he think I was crazy? Or would he scold me and start blaming my mom about all this? I mean I’m 21 but he still doesn’t see me like an adult. But Alhamdulillah he took it quite well and even made a joke about it, how fasting was only for healthy people since he is a diabetic and wouldn’t be able to fast for too long.

Once I got home my mom asked right away what he said. I guess she has this idea in her mind that he would get angry at me or something. I didn’t mention to her that I hadn’t told him I was Muslim. I mean I did say quite clearly “in Islam…” but I don’t know if he associated that with his daughter being a Muslim or not. He didn’t ask any questions, so I didn’t bother to explain to him my personal decisions.

So Alhamdulillah Allah has truly been listening to my du’aas. Of course He always have, but I had taken it all for granted until past experiences that have shown me the mercy of Allah. We are truly blessed to be Muslim, if only others could realize this.

The rest of my fasting has gone quite well. Please share your own personal experiences on the comment section if you’d like.

Strangely, I really don’t get hungry when maghrib comes. I know it’s strange, as everyone is gorging themselves with food, but I don’t know why I don’t get hungry. Maybe it has to do with the fact that maghrib here is at 6:00 p.m. and everywhere else it’s around 8:00 or 9:00. But honestly I don’t feel hungry even at that time. Do you get really hungry when maghrib comes? Let me know if it’s not just me that this happens to.

One night a cousin came, so I broke my fast with some water and started to prepare some food afterwards. We ended up having dinner around 8:30 p.m. and I really wasn’t feeling like extremely hungry. I don’t know, maybe it’s because I have my mind on other things and not so concerned about the hunger.

May Allah reward you this Ramadan and bless us and protect us from the evils of Shaytaan. May Allah accept our fasting and our salat, and insha’Allah may He reward us Jannah. Ameen.

Chao!

4 Responses to “Fasting Week Two Thoughts”

  1. Zuhra July 22, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

    Asalamu alaikum 🙂 I sent you an email awhile ago about fasting in Costa Rica, since I’m visiting here. I just wanted to say you seem like an incredible person mashAllah and may Allah continue to make it easy for you.

    • The Tica Muslimah July 22, 2013 at 8:58 pm #

      wa alaikum as-salam, oh I’m so sorry I haven’t checked my email lately, let me answer back. and jazak Allah khayr thank you insha’Allah you can benefit from my blog 🙂

  2. Amaris July 23, 2013 at 3:21 pm #

    I came across this blog accidently while looking up Ramadan pictures… but maybe it wasn’t on accident… I too am going through the same senerio with my family. And it is hard to tell them when I want to talk about it yet at the same time I am doing it for me so they don’t have to know. But to me just feels like a secret because of not talking about it. How did you learn all that you needed to know in order to convert? I want to convert but before I do I want to make sure I know all that I need to know even from a female perspective because all of my friends that are Muslim are males… Any advice?

    • The Tica Muslimah July 24, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

      Mash’Allah indeed I thing nothing is by accident, and Allah truly wants you to not just take your shahada but to accept Him in your heart. sometimes we as reverts get too caught up in obtaining the right info and reading books and watching videos that we don’t realize it is about believing with our hearts and knowing that Allah exists. since I live in Costa Rica it was simple for me to see because of all the wildlife there is around me, the birds, the extreme tropical rain storms that we have. when there are earthquakes the whole time you’re thinking, oh I could die right now.. and these small things help me see the light of Allah.
      don’t push yourself towards it, Allah will slowly glide you through it all. for me it was also somewhat of a secret for a long time, because I live in a really religious christian country. but I have come to realize that we should fear only Allah, not our parents, or friends, only Allah because He is the only one that will judge us on the day of judgement, the only One! and if you believe this then you are Muslim 🙂 if you know this is true, then we are just delaying something that is already true in our hearts.
      I’ve had some past experiences that made me want to be Muslim although I didn’t for quite a long time. the one thing that made me know for certainty Islam is the true religion, was very simple. I read the Quran. the entire Quran, sometimes we’ll see bits of it here and there but sitting down and reading it made me know that Islam is the true religion for each and every one of us.
      Just have patience, ask Allah for guidance, and fear Him only. He will help you always if you remember Him and submit yourself to His will (which is indeed what Islam is about).
      Oh and try fasting this Ramadan 🙂 I invite you to experience the blessing of fasting and realizing Allah is everything and how we need to help and remember the poor and those in need.
      if you want to talk or have any questions please contact me through my email. Its in the ‘about’ section.
      As-salam alaikum

Leave a Reply

