What are your goals for this Ramadan?

9 Jul

ramadan-mubarak

Ramadan Mubarak to all! As opposed to what the masjid here has confirmed of Ramadan beginning tomorrow, it has been approved by numerous organizations here in the American Continent and other parts of the world that the moon sighting was last night and that Ramadan has officially started on our side of the world. Subhanallah!

I really pray to Allah that we can take the most out of this Ramadan, whether you were raised a Muslim, or have reverted to Islam, Ramadan is still the same sacred and holy month worldwide. I think that many reverts learn to really appreciate this month because we know what it’s like to not be Muslim, and to not worship Allah (subhana wa ta’aala) often. As a Christian, I used to skip attending church on Sunday just out of laziness because I knew there wasn’t any bad outcome of it if I didn’t go. As opposed to this belief, Muslim men are obliged to attend Jummah prayer at the masjid because of the great reward there is behind it.

We all should learn to not take for granted Ramadan. Sometimes we want to do so much that we can’t really stick to our goals. As a means to facilitate this for you, I’ve decided to write down the three main goals you should stick to during this Ramadan.

Of course we must remember that we have to accomplish our obligatory actions, which is salat (prayer) and sawm (fasting).

But why should we keep these goals for Ramadan? Why shouldn’t we just lay on the couch all day watching TV or playing video games? Why should we keep goals if I’m fasting anyways?

We must learn to not be like the hypocrites, that are a certain way with certain people, and then are different when they are alone and no one is watching. Also, we must remember what is said in the Qur’an:

Whoever brings a good deed shall have ten times the like thereof to his credit, and whoever brings an evil deed shall have only the recompense of the like thereof, and they will not be wronged [al-An’aam 6:160].

So if our good deeds are multiplied by ten during any time of the year, imagine the reward we will get out of them if we accomplish good deeds in Ramadan! Subhanallah. This verse is also a sign of mercy from Allah (swt), as he does not multiply our evil deeds, but does so only with our good deeds.

  • Goal # 1: Read the entire Qur’an

holy-quran

The first and foremost goal we should all set for ourselves this Ramadan is to read the Qur’an. As I mentioned in my previous article, Ramadan is not about fasting, but instead it’s about the Qur’an. If we keep it a habit to read the Qur’an during Ramadan, we will seek the guidance of the Qur’an after this month as well.

Reading the entire Qur’an during Ramadan is also Sunnah. The sahaabah (followers of the Prophet salalahu alayhi wa salaam) would read the Qur’an a great deal during Ramadan. For example, some would even complete the Qur’an every seven nights, and during Ramadan every three nights, and then every two nights during the last ten days of Ramadan.

So if they could complete the Qur’an in this time period, why can’t we complete one reading of the Qur’an in an entire month?

There is great benefit in the reading of the Qur’an. At-Tirmithee states:

Whoever reads a letter from the Book of Allah, he will have a reward. And that reward will be multiplied by ten.

Also, the Qur’an will intercede for us on the Day of Judgement. The Prophet (saws) said:

The Qur’an is an intercessor, something given permission to intercede, and it is rightfully believed in. Whoever puts it in front of him, it will lead him to Paradise; whoever puts it behind him, it will steer him to the Hellfire.” [An authentic hadith found in At-Tabaraanee, on the authority of ‘Abdullaah ibn Mas’ood]

There are many more benefits on reading the Qur’an. The reasons to read it this Ramadan are more than enough.

  • Goal # 2: Memorize an entire Surah

punishmnt-of-grave

I had mentioned this on my previous article, and it is a goal I plan to accomplish. A great way to help you stick to it is by finding yourself a friend that can help you achieve this challenge.

One way I learn things by memory is by reciting it about 8 or more times until I can finally recite it without having to look at it. I gues this is because I have photographic memory and everything I see I will remember. If you are someone that learns faster by hearing it, then playing it on your iPod or phone as many times as possible will help you memorize it.

Start by learning one ayat per day. As you advance throughout the month, remember to always recite the previous ayats as to not forget them.

  • Goal # 3: Read a book of beneficial knowledge this Ramadan

40-hadeeth-on-the-islamic-personality

My final goal is to read a book that will help me be a better Muslim. A good book can be 40 Hadiths on the Islamic Personality by Shaykh ‘Alee Hasan ‘Alee ‘Abdul Hameed. If you read one hadith every day, reflect on it, and think about how you can practice this in your daily life, the benefits of it will be more than beneficial for you.

Again, I recommend you find someone that you can share this with you. Whether it be your husband, a sister or a family member that can help you, you will both be getting the rewards out of it and benefiting one another insha’Allah.

___

I know the list is rather short, but it is better to stick to short, simple goals than to create a huge list of things that you won’t be able to achieve and end up feeling bad with yourself. The following hadith also explains the virtues of doing something consistently.

Indeed, the Mother of the Believers `A’ishah (may Allah be pleased with her) narrates that “the most beloved action to Allah’s Apostle was that which is done continuously and regularly” (Sahih Bukhari, Book #76, Hadith #469).

Insha’Allah this was beneficial for you. If you have any other goals please add them to the list on the comment section and share with other your goals for this Ramadan.

May Allah bless us this Ramadan. Ramadan Mubarak!

Chao

2 Responses to “What are your goals for this Ramadan?”

  1. Amaris July 23, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

    I have been very interested in converting over the past 2 years and this is now my second year fasting during Ramadan. Your thoughts were certainly helpful, any other thoughts that could help me?

    • The Tica Muslimah July 24, 2013 at 8:55 pm #

      SubhanAllah I’m glad to see you are fasting, one thing I did last year was year the entire Quran and this year I’ve started to concentrate more on my salat or prayers. trying to really know why I am saying these things, and going with all sincerity in my heart. ask Allah for guidance and when you submit to Him trust me, if it was from the heart you will never look back.
      I reverted to Islam about 6 months ago, and it has been the best decision I’ve made in my life. I don’t regret it one bit. I felt Muslim for a long time before my shahada, so since you’ve been thinking about it for so long, insha’Allah when you take your shahada it will be the biggest relief and peace and happiness you will feel 🙂
      I’m not married nor have too many close friends near my home that are Muslim, so if I’ve gone through all this on my own, I know for you it will be maybe a bit easier and you will have so much support from your friends and I know your family also. it takes time but for Allah, He owns time and we should give Him our time and love because He created us and wants us to return to Him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

